Domain Registration

Miles Taylor, a Former Homeland Security Official, Reveals He Was ‘Anonymous’

  • October 28, 2020

“Issuing my critiques without attribution forced the president to answer them directly on their merits or not at all, rather than creating distractions through petty insults and name-calling,” Mr. Taylor wrote. “I wanted the attention to be on the arguments themselves. At the time I asked, ‘What will he do when there is no person to attack, only an idea?’ We got the answer. He became unhinged. And the ideas stood on their own two feet.”

Danielle Rhoades Ha, a spokeswoman for The Times, said in a statement that “we take seriously our obligations to protect sources.”

She added: “Many important stories in sensitive areas like politics, national security and business could never be reported if our journalists violated that trust. In this case, however, the writer has personally waived our agreement to keep his identity confidential. We can confirm that he is the author of the Anonymous op-ed. We don’t plan to comment further.”

The book’s publisher, Sean Desmond of Twelve Books, said in a statement that the company was proud of the book, which he said “every day seems more and more prescient.”

He added, “Miles Taylor has been a great publishing partner and we support him and the true act of political courage it took to tell his story.”

The publisher has said Mr. Taylor declined to take any advance payment for writing it, and has pledged to donate a large portion of any royalties to nonprofit organizations, including the White House Correspondents’ Association, the membership organization for reporters who cover the president.

The book topped the New York Times’s nonfiction best-seller list for the week of Dec. 8.

Mr. Taylor joined the Trump administration in 2017 and eventually served as Ms. Nielsen’s deputy chief of staff before being promoted in 2018. Previously, he worked for two years for the House Homeland Security Committee, serving as an aide to Representative Michael McCaul, Republican of Texas, who was the chairman of the committee at the time.

Article source:

Related News